Recover Lake Houston

What is the #PleaFor3LakeHouston initiative?

Our #PleaFor3LakeHouston

During Hurricane Harvey, more than 30 inches of rain fell In the Lake Houston Area. In the early morning hours of August 29, without warning or notice, the San Jacinto River Authority (SJRA) released water from Lake Conroe at nearly 80,000 cubic feet per second. Silt, sand and debris from nearby sand mining operations were washed out and into the river and Lake Houston. This caused multiple choke points along the river and resulting in a devastating loss of capacity for the river and the lake. Water was forced out of the banks.

Overnight, hundreds of calls were made for emergency evacuations as homes, businesses, nursing homes, schools began taking on water. The SJRA Board is comprised of five governor appointees. None of the five live in downstream in the flooded Lake Houston Area.

The floods damaged more than 16,000 homes and 3,300 businesses in the Lake Houston Area.

The Lake Houston Area Long Term Recovery Task Force was formed to create a plan to help REBUILD the community and PREVENT future catastrophic flooding Among many solutions they are pursing, Three IMMEDIATE action steps have been identified. The PLEA FOR THREE immediate action steps include Remediation, Reduction and Representation.

  1. REMEDIATION through full funding for dredging the San Jacinto River and Lake Houston and stricter regulation enforcement of legal and illegal sand mining operations along the river.
  2. REDUCTION of the pooling level of Lake Conroe from 201 feet above sea level to 198
  3. REPRESENTATION on the San Jacinto River Authority Board – three governor appointed interim board members representing downstream communities to serve until legislation is passed to address the issue.

Join the #PleaFor3LakeHouston movement and help #RecoverLakeHouston

SEND emails to all suggested state officials beginning December 1

Click here to e-mail your State Officials: Microsoft/PC Users

Click here to e-mail your State Officials: Mac/iPhone/Apple Users

We need you to send E-mails to state officials and the State Representative and State Senator representing your district. Remember to include your personal address or business address in your signature. Click on links above for pre-populated emails to your state officials.

If you’re having issues with the above links not working, please see the tab below this section.

SHARE the email request with your employees, friends, neighbors, & customers

Forward this email and encourage them to send emails to officials beginning on December 1. Share the RecoverLakeHouston.com site which has tools and information for supporting the campaign.

SPREAD the campaign on social media using #PleaFor3LakeHouston #RecoverLakeHouston.

Help our campaign go viral on social media by using hashtags #PleaFor3LakeHouston and #RecoverLakeHouston on all social media posts about the campaign (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram). Visit RecoverLakeHouston.com for sample posts, facts and data to include in your post.

  • Twitter: Follow PleaFor3LakeHouston @PleaFor3LakeHou. Tweet using #RecoverLakeHouston #PleaFor3LakeHouston. Sample Tweet: @GovAbbott @DanPatrick @RepLyleLarson @ElectCharles @EstesForTexas 40% of businesses & 20% of homes in #LakeHoustonArea were damaged in the flood. Help #RecoverLakeHouston w/ Remediation, Reduction and Representation #PleaFor3LakeHouston
  • Facebook: Join and invite others to join the “Recover Lake Houston” Facebook Group. Let us know when you’ve sent your letters, tweets or posts. Share your YouTube videos and posts regarding recovery and use #RecoverLakeHouston #PleaFor3LakeHouston
  • YouTube: Make a YouTube telling your story of how the floods affected you, your business, friends, coworkers and neighbors. Tag your post with Recover Lake Houston and Plea For 3 Lake Houston
  • Instagram: Post pictures of your flood damage or of you holding a sign with the hashtag #PleaFor3LakeHouston. Tag your post with #RecoverLakeHouston #PleaFor3LakeHouston

SIGN UP to get updates on the “Recover Lake Houston” movement (your email will not be shared or used for purposes other than Recover Lake Houston updates)

http://web.lakehouston.org/communication

Fill out the contact form, select the Recover Lake Houston Updates group, and submit

Still having problems sending the email? Click here.

Try the link below FIRST, which should auto-populate the email addresses for Microsoft & PC users ONLY. Then, copy and paste the letter below into the bottom of your email.

Click here to e-mail your State Officials

Subject line should be= Plea For Three: Immediate Needs of the Lake Houston Area

Copy and Paste this letter into your email:

Hurricane Harvey devastated much of the gulf coast of Texas and the Lake Houston Area, comprised of the City of Humble, Kingwood (City of Houston), Atascocita and Summer Creek was not immune. So far the State of Texas has issued no plans regarding funding for either short-term or long-term remediation and/or prevention of future catastrophic flooding for the Lake Houston Area. Working through the immense rainfall from Hurricane Harvey, the City of Humble and Kingwood suffered another devastating blow with the decision made by the San Jacinto River Authority to release water during the middle of the night without warning or coordination with the City of Humble or Harris County Office of Emergency Management. The decision to release an unprecedented 79,100 cubic feet per second greatly exacerbated flooding throughout the area as the water rushed down the San Jacinto River. The San Jacinto River Authority is governed by an appointed board of five people – none of whom live or represent the citizens or businesses downstream in the Lake Houston Area. Consequently, tons of sand and siltation from sand mining operations along the San Jacinto River were deposited into the river, its tributaries and Lake Houston. White sand clogged the waterways and created multiple choke points along the river and as well as a devastating loss of capacity for both the river and lake. Without remediating this issue, the Lake Houston Area could easily flood again with minimal rainfall. As of November 15, 2017 the SBA had identified more than 6,000 homes and more than 3,300 businesses in the Lake Houston Area that were affected by Hurricane Harvey. This equates to 20 percent of all homes and 40 percent of all businesses in our communities. These preliminary numbers will only grow as efforts are continued to repair structures and rebuild the economy. Therefore, I am requesting immediate action on the following three items to help recover the Lake Houston Area: Remediation, Reduction and Representation.

  1. REMEDIATION. Immediately remediate Lake Houston and the San Jacinto River. I’m requesting full funding to dredge the lake and river to remove the sand, siltation and debris deposits. Additionally, stricter enforcement of TCEQ regulations on legal and illegal sand mining operations is necessary and urgently needed.
  2. REDUCTION. Immediately decrease the pooling level of Lake Conroe from 201 feet above sea level to 198 feet by pre-releasing water from Lake Conroe in a slow, systematic flow to ensure the dam at Lake Houston can then release this added water to the Gulf of Mexico. This is CRITICAL as the area has experienced three flood events since 2015.
  3. REPRESENTATION. Immediately add three interim board members to the San Jacinto River Authority representing communities downstream impacted by the release of water from Lake Conroe. These appointed board members would serve until legislation can be crafted to best address the issue of downstream representation on their board.

Our community has done all we physically and financially can to rebuild the Lake Houston Area, but without your support and intervention we will never be able to fully recover from this devastating storm.

Sincerely,

NAME TITLE & BUSINESS or Resident of XXXXXXX Address City, State Zip

 

Copy and paste these emails into your email if the link above did not work:

To:

Luis.Saenz@gov.texas.gov

Matt.Hirsch@gov.texas.gov

Reed.Clay@gov.texas.gov

Tommy.Williams@gov.texas.gov

Erin.Hodges@gov.texas.gov

John.Colyandro@gov.texas.gov

Steven.Albright@gov.texas.gov

Morgan.Stewart@gov.texas.gov

Gregory.davidson@gov.texas.gov

Dede.Keith@gov.texas.gov

CC:

LTGConstituent.Affairs@ltgov.texas.gov

Charles.Perry@senate.texas.gov

Jose.Rodriguez@senate.texas.gov

Brandon.Creighton@senate.texas.gov

Bob.Hall@senate.texas.gov

Juan.Hinojosa@senate.texas.gov

Lois.Kolkhorst@senate.texas.gov

Borris.Miles@senate.texas.gov

Rusty.Smith@senate.texas.gov

Lyle.Larson@house.texas.gov

Dade.Phelan@house.texas.gov

Trent.Ashby@house.texas.gov

DeWayne.Burns@house.texas.gov

James.Frank@house.texas.gov

Kyle.Kacal@house.texas.gov

Tracy.King@house.texas.gov

Poncho.Nevarez@house.texas.gov

Four.Price@house.texas.gov

Paul.Workman@house.texas.gov

Shannon.Houston_HC@house.texas.gov

rebuildtexas@tamus.edu

john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

sylvia.garcia@senate.texas.gov

harold.dutton@house.texas.gov

dan.huberty@house.texas.gov

senfronia.thompson@house.texas.gov

BCC:

chamber@lakehouston.org

 

If you are STILL having problems, please contact Morgan McGrath, Communication Director of the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce at (281) 319-8903 or mmcgrath@lakehouston.org for help.

Download pre-addressed letters to mail:

PDF

Word Document

How you can help:

?

SEND

SEND emails to all suggested state officials beginning December 1
?

SHARE

SHARE the email request with your employees, friends, neighbors, & customers
?

SPREAD

SPREAD the campaign on social media using #PleaFor3LakeHouston #RecoverLakeHouston

 

Join our Facebook Group, Recover Lake Houston.

?

SIGN UP

SIGN UP to get updates on the “Recover Lake Houston” movement (your email will not be shared or used for purposes other than Recover Lake Houston updates)

http://web.lakehouston.org/communication

Fill out the contact form, select the Recover Lake Houston Updates group, and submit